Skip to Content

National Clean Energy Business Plan Competition

Learn more about the Department of Energy's National Clean Energy Business Plan Competition structure, past finalists, and past runner-up teams:

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) National Clean Energy Business Plan Competition is designed to build regional networks of student-focused business creation contests across the country. Launched in 2011, the NCEBPC is part of the Obama Administration's Startup America Initiative, the White House campaign to inspire and promote entrepreneurship. Six regional organizations were funded under the competition to hold clean energy business plan competitions. In addition to the regional competitions, each June at the National Competition Event, the six finalists from the regional business plan competitions pitch their business plans to a panel of expert judges– competing for the National Grand Prize.

The DOE is proud to announce that SiNode Systems from Northwestern University has won the second annual NCEBPC. SiNode Systems is a battery materials venture developing silicon-graphene anodes for the next generation of lithium-ion batteries. SiNode anodes offer higher battery capacity and faster charging rates, all while being produced via a low cost solution chemistry-based manufacturing process. SiNode seeks to change the landscape for lithium-ion batteries so they can meet the demands of a wide range of industries, from consumer electronics to electric vehicles.

US Department of Energy National Clean Energy Business Plan Competition regional competition map. Shows First Look West, California Institute of Technology, CU Cleantech New Venture Challenge, University of Colorado Boulder, Clean energy Student Challenge, Clean Energy Trus, MIT Clean Energy Prize, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, ACC Clean Energy Challenge, University of Maryland, and DOE Clean Energy Prize, Rice Business Plan Competition, Rice University. Western Region Winner: California Institute of Technology (Los Angeles, CA) Western Midwest Region Winner: University of Colorado (Boulder, CO) Western Southwest Region Winner: Rice University (Houston, TX) Eastern Midwest Region Winner: Clean Energy Trust (Chicago, IL) Southeast Region Winner: University of Maryland (College Park, MD) Northeast Region Winner: Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge, MA)