Skip to Content

National Laboratories

The U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) national laboratories play an important role in the development and commercialization of new energy technologies. Of the many national laboratories, 13 directly support the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. To find out more about investment and commercialization opportunities available at the laboratories, contact their technology transfer divisions.

Contact information is available for the following 13 laboratories:

Map of the United States with points marked for the locations of the national labs: Ames Laboratory in Ames, Iowa; Argonne National Laboratory in Argonne, Illinois; Brookhaven National Laboratory in Upton, New York; Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory in northern Illinois; Idaho National Laboratory in Idaho Falls, Idaho; Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, California; Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in western California; Los Alamos National Laboratory in Los Alamos, New Mexico; National Energy Technology Laboratory in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and Morgantown West Virginia; the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colorado; Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Oak Ridge, Tennessee; Pacific Northwest National Laboratory in Richland, Washington; Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory in New Jersey; Sandia National Laboratories Albuquerque, New Mexico and Livermore, California; Savanna River National Laboratory in Aiken, South Carolina; Stanford Linear Accelerator Center in western California; and Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility in eastern Virginia.

The national laboratories that support DOE's Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy are located throughout the United States. See the full-size version of this imagePDF. Download Adobe Reader.

Ames Laboratory

Contact: Debra Covey
Title: Associate Director for Sponsored Research Administration
Phone: 515-294-1048

Argonne National Laboratory

Contact: Deborah L. Clayton
Title: Director - Technology Development and Commercialization
Phone: 630-252-8111

Brookhaven National Laboratory

Contact: Walter Copan
Title: Manager, Office of Technology Commercialization and Partnerships
Phone: 631-344-3035

Fermi National Laboratory

Contact: Bruce Chrisman
Title: Associate Director for Operations Support
Phone: 630-840-6657

Idaho National Laboratory

Contact: Steven McMaster
Title: Director, Technology Development
Phone: 208-526-1340

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Contact: Cheryl Fragiadakis
Title: Department Head, Technology Transfer Department
Phone: 510-486-7020

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Contact: Erik Stenehjam
Title: Director, Industrial Partnerships Office
Phone: 925-423-9353

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Contact: John Mott
Title: Program Manager, Technology Transfer Division
Phone: 505-665-0883

National Energy Technology Laboratory

Contact: Jessica Sosenko
Title: Technology Transfer Program Manager
Phone: 412-386-7417

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Contact: Kristin Gray
Title: Director, Technology Transfer Office
Phone: 303-275-3050

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Contact: Michael Paulus
Title: Director, Technology Transfer
Phone: 865-574-1051

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Contact: Cheryl Cejka
Title: Director, Technology Commercialization
Phone: 509-375-3700

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

Contact: Lew Meixler
Title: Department Head, Office of Technology Transfer
Phone: 609-243-3009

Sandia National Laboratories

Contact: Harold Morgan
Title: Senior Manager, Technology Transfer
Phone: 505-844-7045

Savannah River National Laboratory

Contact: Steve Wach
Title: Manager, Technology Transfer
Phone: 803-725-3020

Stanford Linear Accelerator Center

Contact: Fred Murphy
Title: Office of Technology Transfer
Phone: 650-926-4175

Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility

Contact: James Boyce
Title: Chairman, Technology Review Committee
Phone: 757-269-7513